• african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
FIA Regulations - African Rally Championship
ARC Championship Standings
ARC Photogallery
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts
Past FIA African Rally Champions
CACMS - Internal Rules & Minutes
ARC Championship Archive

Webmaster Only

Site Visitors
fia calendar
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts

Rwanda Press Release





Conrad Rautenbach and Peter Marsh won the Rwanda Mountain Gorilla Rally which ended on Sunday.

The event is the fourth round of Africa Rally Championship(ARC).

The Twenty-two year old driving a Subaru N10 clocked 3:12:55, five minutes and 33 seconds ahead of second placed local hero Rudy Cantanhede and David Israel who are not registered for the ARC so do not score points. 

It was his third win in as many events after his achievements in Kenya Safari Rally in March and Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally last month.

The win also strengthened his grip on the ARC title with three rounds to go. He has 53 points nine ahead of second placed Japanese Hideaki Miyoshi who finished fourth overall but third in ARC race.

Rautenbach said that he is delighted for his third win of the season but nothing is decided yet. “There is still a lot of work to do,” he said.

For Miyoshi, Punctures have undermined his ARC challenge. In this event alone he had four.

Muna singh finished third overall but second in ARC nine minutes behind while reigning Africa champion Patrick Emontspool came fifth but fourth in ARC.

The event attracted 22 drivers with 13 finishers.

The three day event had a total of 871.49km of which 360.54km was competitive.

The fifth round of ARC is Zulu Rally of South Africa May 25-27.


DAY 1 Report

Zimbabwe crew of Conrad Rautenbach and Peter Marsh are well placed to win the Rwanda Mountain Gorilla Rally.

The Zimbabwe crew driving Subaru N10 will go into today’s final day with a lead of over two minutes over Rwanda’s Rudy Cantanhede driving a similar car.

Rautenbach dominated the day after the over night leader Japanese Hideaki Miyoshi had a puncture in the first section on the day.

The Japanese however recovered to finish the day in fourth place 25 seconds behind Zambia’s Muna Singh.

Ladies crew from South Africa Lola and Megan Verlaque retired when their rear suspension bolt came loose and the suspesion fell out.

Uganda’s only representatives Bob Roberts and Moses Ssenkungu in Evo4 finished the day in 13th place in a time 02:22:33.

Today the drivers will negotiate 152.52 km spread over six competitive sections (CS) in Eastern Province.

The first car is expected back at Novetel at 3 p.m. (4 p.m. Uganda time) after negotiating 871.49km over three days.


The full ARC registered drivers results are:

1. Conrad Rautenbach/Peter Marsh (ZW/ZW)  Subaru Impreza            3:12:55

2. Muna Singh   / David Sihoka (Z / Z)  Subaru Impreza                         3:18:28

3. Hideaki Miyoshi / Hakaru Ichino (J /J)   Mitsubishi LancerEvo9                         3:22:01

4. Patrick Emontspool / Benoit Daubie     (B/ B) Subaru Impreza                    3:34:21


2007 ARC standings after Round 4 - Rwanda Mountian Gorilla Rally


1. Conrad Rautenbach   (Zimbabwe)       53 points

2. Hideaki Miyoshi        (Japan)             44 points

3. Muna   Singh           (Zambia)            28 points

4. Asad Anwar             (Kenya)             15 points

5. Patrick Emontspool  (Belgium)          14 points

6. Lola Verlaque           (South Africa)     7 points

7. Issa Mohamed         (Tanzania)          6 points

8. Emmanuel Katto      (Uganda)            5 points

9. Don Smith               (Kenya)              2 points

10. Anwar Pandya        (Tanzania)          1 point

10= Omar Bakressa     (Tanzania)          1 point



1. Peter Marsh             (Zimbabwe)       53 points

2. Hakaru Ichino           (Japan)             44 points

3. David Sihoka            (Zambia)           28 points

4. Nicholas Patel          (Kenya)             15 points

5. Benoit Daubie          (Belgium)           14 points

6. Megan Verlaque       (South Africa)     7 points

7. Awadh Bafadhil        (Tanzania)          6 points

8. Moses Matovu         (Uganda)            5 points

9. Maisam Fazal          (Tanzania)          1 point



1. Subaru            57 points

2. Mitsubishi       44 points


Japanese Miyoshi takes early lead
Leg 1 section 1
Miyoshi (JAP) 3:27
Rautenbach (ZW) 3:30
Emontspool (BEL) 3:34
Muna (ZAM) 3:37
Lola (SA) 3:42
JAPANESE crew of Hideaki Miyoshi and Hakaru Ichino in Mitsubishi Evo9 took an
early lead of Rwanda Mountain Gorilla Rally after winning the 4.16km Super Special
Stage held in Rwanda Industrial Area on Friday.
The 871.49km event is the fourth round of Africa Rally Championship.
The Japanese clocked 3 minutes 27 seconds with Zimbabwe’s Conrad Rautenbach
coming second three seconds behind.
Patrick Emontspool of Belgium in a Subaru N12, the reigning African Champion came
third seven seconds off the pace with Muna Singh of Zambia in Subaru N10 fourth in
a time of 3:37.
The other ARC contenders Lola and Megan Verlaque ‘Rally Chicks’ from South Africa
were sixth in a time of 3.42.
Twenty two cars are taking part in the three day event which ends on Sunday.

RWANDA MOUNTIAN GORILLA RALLY 2007 - Friday 4th July 2007 2pm
Rautenbach, Miyoshi battle for supremacy 
ARC standings
C. Rautenbach (ZW) 37
H. Miyoshi (JAP) 36
M. Singh (ZAM) 16


The battle for the Rwanda Mountain Gorilla Rally resumes this morning at 7 a.m.
(8 a.m. e.a.t) with the 22 cars heading east of Kigali (Eastern Province).
The 871.49km event is the fourth round of Africa Rally Championship (ARC)
The drivers will be tackling 203.90km spread over nine competitive sections.
Despite the rains in the past days Salim Abdulgani, clerk of the course expects a
very fast event.
“The roads are very well maintained so I don’t expect any change despite the
rains. Drivers will be flat out,” he told Daily Monitor on Friday evening.
Uganda’s only representative Bob Roberts navigated by Moses Ssenkungu in a
Mitsubishi Evo4 for his part looked worried about the first competitive section
(CS) today Rukomo -1 to Gorora-1 (46.30km) near the Uganda border at Katuna. “The
section has a lot of stones and if we survive, any thing is possible. But our
first objective is to bring back the car in one piece today,” he said. “After that
we shall attack tomorrow,” he concluded.
However all eyes are on the ARC title contenders Zimbabwe’s 22-year-old Conrad
Rautenbach in a Subaru, current leader and 47-year-old Japanese Hideaki Miyoshi
driving Mitsubishi Evo9. One point separates these two as we enter the second half
of the ARC.
Withdraw of Uganda’s Emma Katto leaves only five ARC drivers fighting for points.
Patrick Emontspool of Belgium, reigning African champion, Muna Singh from Zambia
and ‘ Rally Chicks’ from South Africa are the other ARC contenders.
The event also marks the return of Rwanda’s Rudy Cantanhede who had a serious
accident last November.

Click here to download Entry List


© FIA African Rally Championship- 2012
Site Designed by: Intrepid Data Systems
Intrepid Data Systems