• african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
FIA Regulations - African Rally Championship
ARC Championship Standings
ARC Photogallery
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts
Past FIA African Rally Champions
CACMS - Internal Rules & Minutes
ARC Championship Archive

Webmaster Only

Site Visitors
fia calendar
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts

2014 Tanzania Rally Results


Jaspreet Chatthe becomes the first Kenyan driver to win an event in Tanzania since 2002, after clinching victory in the home round of the 2014 African Rally Championship in Dar-es-salaam. Twelve out of the original 19 starters finished the Oryx Energies Rally of Tanzania of 2014.

By doing so, the 34-year-old also scores his first-ever victory in any kind of event since stepping into the sport hardly two seasons ago. Jamil Khan and Arshard Khan was the last Kenyan crew to win an event in Tanzania driving a Subaru Impreza STi.

“It is a great feeling winning a rally of the African Rally Championship as my first ever victory in my short career. It makes it even more satisfying to register victory outside my home,’’ said the Kibos Sugar-sponsored driver.
The Mitsubishi Lancer EVOX driver, who was navigated by David of Zambia, was fastest in 10 out of the 15 stages of the rally that kicked off from Tazara Railway station on Friday

In contrast his navigator would not remember the number of rallies he had won to=date, but was sure he won four ARC titles in his career beginning with compatriot Muna Singh on three occasions and later with Jessie son of Muna once.“It has been a good career at the top of the sport. I have won many events across the nation but most important is to have fun. I enjoyed this one very much. Now looking at Rwanda,’’ said Sihoka.

The win takes Chatthe to the joint lead in the overall standings of the 2014 ARC with 58 points, same as Gary Chanyes Ivory Coast, who was at the top of the series with 58 points.

Chanyes said he had numerous problems but wasdisqualified by the Stewards at the finish for outside assistance.

The championship remains wide open at the half way stage. Essa Mohamed of Zambia, who was aiming for his third consecutive victory in his attempt to close the gap at the top of the table, got a shock after his Subaru Impreza stopped with a damaged rear arm at the end of the first stage of Day Two. He still maintains his joint second place in the championship with 50 points despite the retirement.

Rwanda’s Giancarlo Davite’s woes continue as his Mitsubishi Lancer EVOX suffers yet again with series of mechanical problems that have hindered his progress in the ARC contest. By the time of going to Press, Stewards of the Meeting were looking into report that his car was spotted receiving outside assistance yards away from the finish at Tazara Station. His car was apparently pushed into the final parc ferme and later disqualified by the Stewards.

Local interest will have to wait for another a year before it can produce a winner in the home event since Omar Bakressa won the rally in 2004 driving a Subaru Impreza STi.
Rajpal Dhani was the best-placed Tanzanian driver in the third place driving a Subaru Impreza with his Kenya navigator, Sinder Sudle. Sadly Ralpal’s brother, who is leading the local championship, was forced out of the rally with a radiator problem.Favorites among the local drivers, Gerard Miller and Dharam Pandya were also knocked out of the rally while at the top of the leader. Miller faced fuel pump failure, while Pandya in the Puma-sponsored Mitsubishi Lancer abruptly stopped with rear broken differential while on the way to the Service Park while laying a commendable second place.

One of the most respected rally drivers in the region, Jayant Shah finished in the ninth position in the sole Porsche 911 with leading Kenyan navigator, Ravi Channa. Shah is a veteran of many rallies in the East African region and also great support of the Tanzanian Rally.

Two out of the original three Ugandan drivers failed to finish the rally. Shafik Ssemujju bowed out on Day Two of the while Duncan Mubiru ended his hopes in the penultimate stage of the rally. Abbu Sempebwa finished in the seventh place. The Uganda also scored ARC points by finishing second in class.

With a fourth place, Rajpal Dhani and his Kenyan navigator Sunder Sudle also won the round of the 2014 National Rally Championship followed by Kirit Pandya and Veer Darbar (8th overall) and Gurpal Singh and Absolom Aswani of Kenya with 6th overall.

Ten cars finished out of the original 19 starters.

ORYX ENERGY RALLY OF TANZANIA 2014 – 13/15 June 2014


End Leg 1 Results - Saturday 14th June 2014 -20h00

1. Jaspreet Singh Chatthe / David Sihoka Mitsubishi Evo X - 1:20:57
2. Dharam Pandya /Sanjeev Pandya Mitsubishi Evo 9 - 1:23:11
3. Gary Chanes / Romain Comas Mitsubishi Evo X - 1:23:35
4. Giancarlo Davite / Sylvia Vindevogel Mitsubishi Evo X - 1:27:56
5. Rajpal Singh Dhani / Sinder Sudle Subaru Impreza - 1:28:09

13 cars of the 19 starters still running. Leg 2 starts 07h30 Sundy and finishes at 14h00.

© FIA African Rally Championship- 2012
Site Designed by: Intrepid Data Systems
Intrepid Data Systems