• african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
FIA Regulations - African Rally Championship
ARC Championship Standings
ARC Photogallery
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts
Past FIA African Rally Champions
CACMS - Internal Rules & Minutes
ARC Championship Archive

Webmaster Only

Site Visitors
fia calendar
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts

2013 Zambia Press Releases


BREAKING NEWS - Sunday 19th May 2013 - 17h05
Essa wins Zambia Int Rally:
1. Mohammed Essa 3:08:35
2. Giancarlo Davite +6:47
3. Jas Mangat +11:18
4. Mukosa +29:32
5. Jassy Singh +35:05
6. Dani +49:08
7. Toofail +1:14:48

ARC Championship provisional standings after Zambia-
Drivers - Davite 33, Jassy 30, Essa 25, Pages 25, Habig 25, Mangat 15
Navigators - Sihoka 37, Vindevogel 36, Stead 25, Pages 25, Gihan 15




AFRICAN champion Mohammed Essa (Subaru Impreza N010 R4) of Zambia has taken a comfortable six minute 46 second lead in the FIA African Rally Championship (ARC) 2013 third round event, the Puma Energy Zambia International Rally.

Essa, who started the day six seconds ahead of Rwanda's Giancarlo (Mitsubishi Evo X) and Uganda's Jas Mangat (Subaru N12), thoroughly dominated the day dropping only one stage from nine stages even with a 20 second penalty for lateness from service after a breaking a front right drive shaft.

Davite maintained second place with a two second four minute cushion on Mangat on a grueling day when Penyaonse stage 10 (21.72km) was cancelled because of severe sand and six crews retired their vehicles from the rally after encountering mechanical problems.

Zambian champion Jassy Singh (Subaru N10), who suffered the most mechanical problems of the four African championship crews ending up incurring a two minute 20 second lateness penalty, is in a distance fourth place, 12 minutes 35 seconds adrift of Mangat.

In the national championship, crowd favourite Ken Mukosa (Subaru N8) is occupying the final podium position after trading positions with 18-year-old debutant Toofail Dalal (Subaru GC8) while Dani Beaini (Subaru N12) crawled back into the rally after breaking two drive shafts albeit with a six minute 50 second lateness penalty.

Another youngster Yazdaan Ticklay (Subaru GC8) also made a brave fightback to stay in the rally and is now carrying a 26 minute 50 second lateness penalty incurred from Friday when he staled on transport to the Rally HQ from the Super Special Stage in the Showgrounds.

Saturday end results

1. Mohammed Essa 1:59:09

2. Giancalo Davite +06:02

3. Jas Mangat +8:06

4. Jassy Singh +20:41

5. Ken Mukosa +24:43

6. Toofail Dalal +35:12

7. Dani Beaini +42:27

8. Yazdaan Ticklay +1:36:02


1. Noel Masadza (turbo)

2. Farook Ticklay (electrical)

3. Jamie Whyte (engine)

4. Azim Ticklay (radiator)

5. Muna Singh jr (ball joints)

6. Walter Wasamunu (engine)


AFRICAN champion Mohammed Essa of Zambia has opened up a six-minute overnight lead on the first day of the FIA African Rally Championship (ARC) third round, the 488.70km Puma Energy Zambia International Rally in Lusaka.

Essa was fastest on both runs on the twisty Lusaka Motor Club 1.63km Super Special Stage bringing his recently acquired Madison/Puma/iConnect Subaru Impreza N2010 R4 home four seconds quicker than Rwanda's Giancarlo Davite (Mitsubishi Evo X) on the first loop.

Essa dropped two seconds from his earlier 1:33 seconds while Davite matched his time to trade second and third positions with another African title contender Jas Mangat (Subaru N12) of Uganda who improved his time by two seconds thus both recording an identical time overall going into the rally proper tomorrow on fast and tight stages of Graham Ray Farm in Chisamba.

Jassy Singh (NetOne Technologies Subaru N10) of Zambia jostled with former African champion Jamie Whyte (Subaru N10) of Zimbabwe for fourth and fifth positions with the latter prevailing by one second on the first run before dropping a second while the Zambia gained two seconds grab.

Jassy and Davite have a chance to take over the African championship lead if they play their cards right in this rally in the absence of joint leaders Eric Pages of Ivory Coast and South Africa's Jan Habig while Essa is yearning for him first points of the season after his misfortunes during the Sasol Rally last month.

The Zambia rally that had 16 entries, lost two key local entries before the start when former national champion Paul Monge and Ashish Patel, who was narrowly piped to the domestic crown by Jassy last year, withdrew their entries after failing to fix their Subarus on time.

In the national champions race, hard-working Farook Ticklay (Subaru N10) is in the podium bracket behind Essa and Jassy and is followed by crowd favourite Ken Mukosa (Subaru N8) who stole the show for the umpteenth time as fans cheered throughout his runs before lifting him sky high before crews left the Showgrounds.

Birthday boy Dani Beaini (Subaru N12) finished eighth overall and his was followed by veteran Azim Ticklay (Toyota Land Cruiser), 18-year-old rally debutant Toofail Dalal (Subaru GC8), Noel Masadza (Mitsubishi Evo 5), Muna Singh jr (VW Golf 2) and Walter Wasamunu (Subaru GC8).

Unfortunately, youngster Yazdaan Ticklay (Subaru GC8) may have been time barred after he stalled on the road on transport between the Showgrounds and overnight Parc Ferme at Rally HQ, InterContinental Lusaka having successfully complete both his runs.

SS1A (1.63km)

1. Mohammed Essa (Subaru N2010 R4) 1:33

2. Giancarlo Davite (Evo X) +4

 3. Jas Mangat (Subaru N12) +5

 4. Jamie Whyte (Subaru N10) +7

 5. Jassy Singh (Subaru N10) +8

 6. Farook Ticklay (Subaru N10) +13

 7. Noel Masadza (Evo 5) +16

 8. Ken Mukosa (Subaru N8) +22

 9. Azim Ticklay (Land Cruiser) +23

 10.=Dani Beaini (Subaru N12) +25

 11.=Yazdaan Ticklay (Subaru GC8) +25

 12. Toofail Dalal (Subaru GC8) +26

 13. Muna Singh jr (VW Golf 2) +27

 14 Walter Wasamunu (Subaru GC8) +39


SS1B (1.63km repeat)

1. Mohammed Essa 1:35

2 Jas Mangat +1

3. Giancarlo Davite +2

4. Jassy Singh +4

5. Jamie Whyte +6

6. =Dani Beaini +10

7. =Ken Mukosa +10

8.=Farook Ticklay +13

9.=Noel Masadza +13

10. Muna Singh jr +18

11. Azim Ticklay +21

12: Toofail Dalaal +28

13.Walter Wasamunu +33



1. Essa 3:08

2.=Davite +6

3.=Mangat +6

4. Jassy +12

5. Whyte +13

6. Farook +26

7. Mukosa +32

8. Dani +35

9. Azim +44

10. Dalal +1:04

11. Masadza +1:29

12. Muna jr +1:45

13. Wasamunu +4:02

**Yazdaan stopped on transport between the Showgrounds and overnight Parc Ferme at Rally HQ, InterContinental Lusaka


Click here to download Entry List







© FIA African Rally Championship- 2012
Site Designed by: Intrepid Data Systems
Intrepid Data Systems