• african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
FIA Regulations - African Rally Championship
ARC Championship Standings
ARC Photogallery
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts
Past FIA African Rally Champions
CACMS - Internal Rules & Minutes
ARC Championship Archive

Webmaster Only

Site Visitors
fia calendar
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts

2011 South Africa Press Releases
Conrad Rautenbach splashing through the muddy route to overall victory in his Ford Fiesta S2000 during the 2011 Sasol Rally South  Africa  which ended in Nelspruit South Africa yesterday.
Schalk Burger Sasol Rally.jpg
Schalk Burger and Armand Du Toit splashing to second overall in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 10
James Whyte and Phil Archenoul changed their trusty Subaru Impreza for this Toyota Auris S2000 during the Sasol Rally and finished third overall in the ARC.
Muna Singh Sasol Rally
Muna Singh also flying to fourth place in the rally


Conrad Rautenbach and Nicolas Klinger extended their lead in the 2011 FIA African Rally Championship, winning the Sasol Rally in South Africa by a dominant 11½ minutes.

The Zimbabwean/French combination powered their G-Fuel Ford Fiesta S2000 through the 17 stage event in a time of 139:12.3, claiming a scratch time in stage 11, to take their second consecutive win in the ARC.

Second overall was the SA pairing of Schalk Burger Jr/Armand du Toit in their Powerlines Africa Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X in a time of 151:39.7, opening their score with 18 points after a steady drive on wet roads following persistent pre-rally rains.

Zimbabweans Jamie Whyte and Phil Archenoul, the defending ARC Champions, swapped their Subaru Impreza for a class S2000 Toyota Auris with Toyota Zimbabwe backing, ended 3rd overall and earned enough points to take 2nd in the title chase, 17 behind Rautenbach.

Muna Singh and David Sihoka from Zambia were 4th overall and move into third in the championship race after a steady run in their N4 Madison Insurance Subaru Impreza.  Singh was third after Friday’s 8 stages.

Giancarlo Davite (Rwanda) and Sylvia Vindevogel (Burundi) retired their Subaru Impreza in the popular town stage through the streets of Nelspruit after hitting a kerb on Saturday’s first stage.  The SA debutants found the tarmac stages difficult as they were not included on the recce route.

Zambian Mohammed Essa and Moses Matovu from Tanzania retired their Madison Subaru on Friday, as did Craig Green and Michael Exton from Zimbabwe (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX).

A welcome return of South Africa to the FIA Africa Rally Championship the Sasol Rally is the best rally in the South African Rally series and ran over 16 stages totaling 200.64 km starting from Sabie 60km north of Nelspruit, in the Mbombela province in South Africa. The roads used were in the forests managed by York Timber.

44 cars started this ARC rally and 27 cars eventually finished the tough event.

The results of the Sasol Rally - African Rally Championship registered drivers was as follow:

  1. Conrad RAUTENBACH / Nicolas KLINGER (Zimbabwe / France) Ford Fiesta S2000 - 139:12.3
  2. Schalk BURGER / Armand DU TOIT (South Africa) Mitsubishi Evo 10 - 151:39.7
  3. James WHYTE / Phil ARCHENOUL (Zimbabwe) Toyota Auris S2000 – 154:24.7
  4. Muna SINGH / David SIHOKA (Zambia) Subaru Impreza – 155:30.4


ARC DRIVERS CHAMPIONSHIP 2011 - After South Africa Round 2

1.  Conrad RAUTENBACH (Zimbabwe)    50 points
2.  James WHYTE (Zimbabwe)               33 points
3.  Muna SINGH (Zambia)                      24 points
4.  Schalk BURGER (South Africa)         18 points
5.  Giancarlo DAVITE (Rwanda)              15 points


ARC NAVIGATORS CHAMPIONSHIP 2011 - After South Africa Round 2

1.  Nicolas KLINGER (France)               50 points
2.  Phil ARCHENOUL (Zimbabwe)          33 points
3.  David SIHOKA (Rwanda)                   24 points
4.  Armand DU TOIT (South Africa)         18 points
5.  Sylvia VINDEVOGEL (Rwanda)         15 points

MANUFACTURERS 2011 - After South Africa Round 2

1.  Ford                         50 points
2.  Subaru                     30 points
3.  Mitsubishi                18 points

4.  Toyota                     15 points


© FIA African Rally Championship- 2012
Site Designed by: Intrepid Data Systems
Intrepid Data Systems