• african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
FIA Regulations - African Rally Championship
ARC Championship Standings
ARC Photogallery
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts
Past FIA African Rally Champions
CACMS - Internal Rules & Minutes
ARC Championship Archive

Webmaster Only

Site Visitors
fia calendar
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts

2009 Tanzania Rally Results
James Whyte and Phil Archenoul from Zimbabwe is the new Kobil Rally of Tanzania Champion after clinching victory in the opening round of the 2009 African Rally Championsip in Dar-es-salaam this afternoon. It was a dramatic finish when leader Uganda’s Emmanuel Katto, who looked set to give the N14 version of the Subaru Impreza N14 its first win in the African Continent failed on the final stages of the last day due to a puncture and the cars jack failed forcing the crew to drive on a puncture before settling for a runner-up place. 
‘’I am disappointed with the result after many attempts in the new car. We will now work harder to try and do better in the Safari Rally and establish a good footing in the ARC standings,’’ said Kato.
Whtye becomes the fifth different winner of the Tanzania Rally celebrating its fifth edition of the ARC series since Riyaz Kurji of Uganda won the first event in 2005.
In the Prielli Rally Star Africa the eventual winner was Randeep Birdi from Tanzania in his Mitsubishi Evo 7 after scoring 39 points. Second overall and also a qualifer was Mathieu Adrianjafy from a lesser-fancied rallying nation of Madagascar could be the driver to watch in Kenya in April. He has flair and agression to challenge some of the best drivers in the Pirelli series. This was inspite of retiring with an engine failure in the first stage of the Day 2, Mathieu has amassed enough points from the 5 stage wins in Leg 1. Other Pirelli contenders Alex and Peter the Horsey brothers Peter and Alex failed in their attempt to qualify for the Pirelli Young Star Drivers Championship finals in Rwanda after mechanical failures in both the new Evo9 and Evo8 machines respectively.
While Kato and Zimbabwe’s James Whyte took centre stage at the top end of the table, it was the crop of younger drivers on the other end who set the event alight with memorable performances despite failing to reach the end. 
Despite failing to finish the event, Zambia’s Mohammed Essa proved a potential winner and looks odds on to qualify for the Pirelli finals when the series reaches the southern region
Muna Singhof Zambia, Tanzania’s Hanns Navraj, Giancarlo Davite of Rwanda and Essa Mohamed were the other major casualties of the event after a an excellent start to the rally.

Provisional results: 1. Jamie Whyte/Philip Archenoul (Subaru Impreza) 186.25; 2. Emmanuel Kato/Moses Matovu (Subaru Impreza) 187.00; 3. Oliver Costa/JF Ruhashyankiko (subaru Impreza) 195.04; 4. Lola Verlaque/Megan Verlaque (VW Polo St200) 198.41; 5. Randeep Birdi/Sahib Bhatti (Mitsubishi Lancer) 200.48; 6. Saleem Haji/Rahim Sulieman (Mitsubishi Lancer) 201.30; 7. Don Smith/Bob Kaugi (Subaru Impreza) 203.47; 8. Dharm Pandya/Sanjay Pandya ( Subaru Legacy) 208.26; 9. Gamdust Haji/Bashir Suleiman (Subaru Impreza) 235.06


1. Emmanuel Katto / Moses Matovu          Subaru Impreza N14         105.54
2. James Whyte / Phillip Archenoul            Subaru Impreza N10         106.54
3. Mathieu Adrianjafy / Teddy Rahamefy   Subaru Impreza N10         112.45
4. Alex Horsey / Andrew Doig                    Mitsubshi Lancer Evo8      113.35
5. Oliver Costa / JF Ruhashyankiko           Subaru Impreza N11         113.41
6. Randeep Birdi / Sahib Bhatti                  Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 7    114.22
7. Anwar Pandya / George Mwangi           Subaru Impreza N10         115.35
8. Saleem Haji / Sahib Bhatti                     Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 7     115.54
9. Peter Horsey / Chrispine Sasson          Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9      116.06
10.Essa Mohammed / Dave Milner            Subaru Impreza                 117.18
11.Lola Verlaque / Megan Verlaque          Volkswagen Polo S2000    117.19
12. Don Smith / Robert Kaugi                    Subaru Impreza N12          119.07

Muna Singh / David Sihoka                Accident Front suspension damage
Ahmed Huwel / Masim Fazal              Engine
Navraj Hans / Frank Gitau                 Accident hit a bridge and damage rear suspension
Giancarlo Davite / Sylvia Vindevogel  Accident off road suspension damage
Izhar Mirza / Ashard Khan                 Retired
Patrice Comitos / Carl Voltaire           Retired
Amarjeet Dillion / Wenna Brown        Accident
Ben Pelser / Peter Pelser                   Engine

END OF LEG 1 - KOBIL RALLY OF TANZANIA - By Twincam in Dar-es-salaam Saturday 21st february 2009 Time 5.41pm
Slow start for the Kenyan drivers as Emmanuel Kato of Uganda takes an early lead at the end of day one of the opening round of the 2009 African Rally Championship in Tanzania yesterday.
However, a fourth place for Alex Horsey is good enough to keep his eyes on the on course to secure a top-two place in the 2009 Pirelli Young Star Driver Championship. He and co-driver David Doig finished as leaders of their class at the wheels of a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo8.
Pre-rally favourite, Peter Horsey is in the ninth place at the wheels of a left-hand driver Mitsubishi Lancer.
‘’This is the first time I am driving a left-hand-drive and it’s a nightmare. I just want to stay on the road and finish the rally before I even think of a position. But Pirelli is important part of our plans,’’ said Peter.
With Muna Singh crashing out of the rally in the second section of the day, the focus is now on Whyte and Kato to battle it out for the top honours barring any mechanical problems on the final day.
Lola Verlaque is set to maintain her status as one of the quickest lady drivers in the African Continent after finishing eleventh on the opening day of the championship.
The South African driver has moved to the Volkswagen Polo ST2000 after years at the wheels of the Subaru Impreza which is now with Carlo Tundo.
‘’The new car is good and we are having fun. We want to finish the rally in a good position,’’ said her co-driver and sister Megan Verlaque.
Frank Gitau’s reign as the top Kenyan navigator in the event lasted three sections before bowing out with a blown differential pump in the newly acquired Mitsubishi Lancer.
His driver Hanns Navraj will have to start all over again in the Safari Rally in April to revive his plans of qualifying for the Pirelli finals in the Kigali capital later in the year.
George Mwangi now flies the Kenyan flag as the top Kenya National Rally Championship navigator after guiding home boy Anwar Pandya in the seventh place driving a Subaru Impreza.
The final day kicks off this morning from Dar-es-salaam.

Provisional results: 1. Emmanuel Kato/Moses Mutovu (Subaru Impreza) 105mins 54secs; 2. Jamie Whyte/Philip Archenoul (Subaru Impreza) 106.54; 3. Mathieu Andrianjafi/Teddy Rohamefy (Subaru Impreza) 112.45; 4. Alex Horsey/David Doig (Mitsubishi Lancer) 113.35; 5. Oliver Costa/JF Ruhashyankiko (subaru Impreza) 113.41; 6. Randeep Birdi/Sahib Bhatti (Mitsubishi Lancer) 114:22; 7. Anwar Pandya/George Mwangi (Subaru Impreza) 115.35; 8. Saleem Haji/Rahim Sulieman (Mitsubishi Lancer) 115.54; 9. Peter Horsey/Crispin Sassoon (Mitsubishi Lancer) 116.06; 10. Essa Mohamed/Dave Milner (subaru Impreza) 117.18

© FIA African Rally Championship- 2012
Site Designed by: Intrepid Data Systems
Intrepid Data Systems