• african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
  • african rally championship
FIA Regulations - African Rally Championship
ARC Championship Standings
ARC Photogallery
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts
Past FIA African Rally Champions
CACMS - Internal Rules & Minutes
ARC Championship Archive

Webmaster Only

Site Visitors
fia calendar
FIA Region Secretariat Contacts

2006 Zimbabwe Press Releases


N4 A ZAMBIA Muna Singh David Sihoka Subaru Impreza
N4 A ZIMBABWE Conrad Rautenbach
Subaru Impreza
UGANDA Riyaz Kurji Sayed Kadri Subaru Impreza
KENYA Azar Anwar
Mitsubishi Evo 6
N4 A ZIMBABWE Richard Robinson Collin Schrieber Mitsubish Evo 6
BELGIUM Patrick Emontspool Alain Robert Subaru Impreza
N4 A ZIMBABWE Jamie Whyte Phil Archenoul Mitsubish Evo 6
N4 A UGANDA Emmanuel Katto Moses Matovu Subaru Impreza
N4 A ZIMBABWE Jess Watson David Milner Mitsubish Evo 4
TANZANIA Omar Bakhressa Maisam Faisal Subaru Impreza
N4 A ZAMBIA Paul Monge Ray Thornicroft Subaru Impreza
TANZANIA Ahmed Huwel Ferreira Georgie Subaru Impreza
N4 A ZAMBIA Rammy Singh Gary Ismail Subaru Impreza
BELGIUM Guy Ernst Benoit Bruck Subaru Impreza
N4 A ZIMBABWE Shaun Whyte Brendon Wright Mitsubishi Evo 6
SOUTH AFRICA Lola Verlaque Megan Verlaque Subaru Impreza
N4 A ZIMBABWE Craig Green Mike Exton Misubishi Evo 4
A7 A ZIMBABWE Anthony Brant Mike Tastard Ford Escort
N4 A ZAMBIA Raju Saran Goma Mtumbi Subaru Impreza
N4 A ZAMBIA Mohammed Essa Ajit Naik Subaru Impreza
NAMIBIA Richard Himmel Adolf Botes Toyota Corolla
A6 A ZIMBABWE Craig Bond Tony Rowley Toyota Corolla
S11 B ZIMBABWE Trevor Gilbert Darrin Keates Madza Famillia
N2 B ZIMBABWE Gary Flack Eric White Toyota Corolla
N4 A ZIMBABWE Kevin Cooper Scott Gobey Subaru WRX
NAMIBIA Diederick Cornelissen Gunther Skutsch Toyota Corolla
S12 D ZIMBABWE Gordon Mackay Miles Skinner Toyota Levin
A6 B ZIMBABWE Nicholas Berkau Edward Danby Toyota Corolla
N2 B ZIMBABWE Chase Attwell Gareth Dawe Toyota Corolla
S10 B ZIMBABWE Carl Peters Malcolm Thornicroft Daihatsu Sirion
S11 D ZIMBABWE Sherwin Evans Clint Ashdown Toyota Conquest
S16 C ZIMBABWE Clayton Green Greg Stead Ford Bantum
S16 C ZIMBABWE Ronald Parsell Bronwyn Ebrahim Toyota Hilux

MAY 5 2006
The 43rd running of Zimbabwe's premier motorsport event, the Challenge Rally, will take place from Friday June 23 to Sunday June 25, starting and finishing at the home of local motor racing, Donnybrook in Harare. These dates were unveiled at a launch event in Harare today (Fri May 5), where it was also announced that the event would be sponsored by leading tyre manufacturer and distributor Dunlop Zimbabwe, which has been involved since 1997.
The rally is organised by Sables Motor Club under the auspices of the Zimbabwe Motor Sport Federation and the FIA, world motorsport's governing body. This year's event is expected to attract the largest international field in over a decade, with competitors from Belgium, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Zambia, Namibia, Botswana and South Africa expected to join the cream of the Zimbabwean rallying scene in vying for the prestigious Challenge winner's title.
Among them will be 21-year-old Conrad Rautenbach of Zimbabwe, last year's Challenge champion and the youngest winner of an FIA African Rally Championship event to date.
Also vying for a shot at the title is Richard Robinson of Zimbabwe, who is at present second-placed in the drivers championship standings of the African Rally Championship, following good showings in the legs to date in Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda. Other international names are likely to be Riyaz Kurji of Uganda and Zambia's Muna singh, who won the Challenge two years ago.
Day one of the Dunlop Challenge will take place at Donnybrook, with three vehicles at a time involved in a super special stage that follows a fast gravel and tar course to achieve best time of the day. Day two sees the entire rally move out to gravel roads in the Norton area, while day three will see action in and around Arcturus and Enterprise, ending at Donnybrook with a final super special stage and prizegiving.
"It's all go for the 2006 Dunlop Zimbabwe Challenge Rally, and we hope this event will keep up with the tradition we have set of each year being bigger and better than the previous," said Craig Batten, chairman of Sables Motor Club and of the Challenge organising committee.
"We have in the past few years received exceptionally positive feedback and reports from the FIA on our management and handling of the Challenge, which confirms its status as one of Africa's most important and best-run motorsport events."
The Dunlop Challenge is a leg of the FIA African Rally Championship and the Zimbabwe national rally championship, as well as of the Zim-Zam Series, which was introduced last year to add excitement to the rally communities of Zimbabwe and Zambia with a number of rallies in each country.


© FIA African Rally Championship- 2012
Site Designed by: Intrepid Data Systems
Intrepid Data Systems